top of page
  • VPSF Admin

Governor McAuliffe Awards 2015 Medal of Valor

~Twelve Virginians recognized at annual ceremony held September 10th~

RICHMOND – The Commonwealth Public Safety Medal of Valor and Meritorious Service Medal was conferred on seven Virginia State Police Troopers, three Dinwiddie County Sheriffs, and  one Correctional Officer in a ceremony at the State Capitol today in recognition of their heroic actions to save lives.

The ceremony was held at 3 p.m. in the Old House Chamber of the State Capitol in Richmond.

The Medal of Valor was given to Sergeant Marilyne Wilson, Troopers Paul Domingoes, Trooper Samuel Moss, and Trooper Bruce Carey of the Virginia State Police.

The Meritorious Service Medal was given to Sergeant Chistopher Aikens, Trooper J.D. Stamper, Trooper Charles Lafranchi, and Trooper Brandon West of the Virginia State Police.

The Meritorious Service Medal was given to Corporal Travis Stewart, Deputy Sheriff Brock Tomlin, and Deputy Sheriff Jasen McClellan of the Dinwiddie County Sheriff's Office.

The Meritorious Service Medal will also be given to Correctional Officer Willie Thompson of the Department of Corrections.

Created by Virginia law and administered by the Virginia Public Safety Foundation, the awards honor men and women in public safety that have gone above and beyond the call of duty in service to their fellow citizens. 

“VPSF is proud to recognize the courage of these men and women,” said Chief John Venuti, VPSF President.  “The recipients of this year’s Medals of Valor and Meritorious Service Awards all displayed extraordinary bravery in placing their own lives in grave danger to serve and save others.  On behalf of a grateful Commonwealth, I applaud the valor and dedication of these award recipients.”

8 views0 comments


bottom of page