top of page
Memorial Ceremony

Virginia Public Safety Foundation

Never Forgotten

Ensuring the safety of the people living in and travel through the commonwealth is a challenging task performed by highly trained and highly skilled public safety officers who work together to achieve this common goal. These public safety officers serve our communities in a variety of capacities: as firefighters, sheriff’s deputies, police officers, emergency medical service providers, correctional officers, conservation officers and members of the Virginia Air National Guard.


They stand guard 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and 365 days a year, providing life-saving services in the most difficult and demanding of circumstances and often without regard for their own safety. Sadly, many have made the ultimate sacrifice and lost their lives for the sake of others.


The Virginia Public Safety Foundation did not want Virginia’s public safety heroes to go unnoticed or become lost to time. Their actions and their stories are amazing and an important part of our history. For this reason, the Foundation dedicated the Commonwealth Public Safety Memorial in 2014, honoring 870 heroes.


Since that time, the Foundation has unfortunately continued to add names to Memorial. Sadly, we are nearing 1,000 fallen heroes. It is our mission to ensure no Virginia public safety hero is forgotten.


Leadership of the Virginia Public Safety Foundation is provided by directors selected from Virginia's public safety community, government, and business community. Special attention is paid to recruiting a Board that represents Virginia's diverse population and geographic regions.

The Honorable Nancy Rodrigues, Former Secretary of Administration

Vice President
Lt. Col. Tracy S. Russillo, Retired, Virginia State Police

Frank S. Warren, Jr., CPA – Harris, Hardy & Johnstone, PC


The Honorable Joseph Baron, Sheriff, City of Norfolk
Mr. Brad Creasy, Executive Director, Virginia Department of Fire Programs
Chip Decker, CEO, Richmond Ambulance Authority
Chief Steven R. Drew, City of Newport News Police
Mr. Mark Fero, Office of the Attorney General
The Honorable Carlos L. Hopkins, Former Secretary of Veterans Affairs
Deputy Chief Abbey G. Johnston, Bedford County Fire & Rescue
Fire Chief Todd Lagow, City of Norton Fire Department
The Honorable Brian Moran, Former Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security
Chief John Prillaman, Salem Fire & EMS
Major Norman Gray - Virginia State Police
Mr. Brian Swann, Former Deputy Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security 
Mr. Joseph Walters, Deputy Director, Virginia Dept. of Corrections
Honorary Directors
Governor Glenn Youngkin
Lt. Governor Winsome Sears
Attorney General Jason Miyares
Senator Mark Warner, United States Senate
Senator Tim Kaine, United States Senate
Governor Ralph Northam
Governor Terry McAuliffe
Governor Robert McDonnell
Secretary Terrance Cole, Public Safety & Homeland Security


bottom of page